Tuesday, July 23, 2024
HomeSportsICC Champions Trophy 2025 Schedule Has Been Announced

ICC Champions Trophy 2025 Schedule Has Been Announced

The proposed calendar for Pakistan’s hosting of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2025 has been revealed, The Telegraph reported on Sunday. The eagerly awaited tournament, which features the top eight nations from last year’s ODI World Cup, will be held from February 19 to March 9.

Match Venues and Host Cities

The matches will be held in Karachi, Rawalpindi and Lahore as host cities. The teams will be divided into two groups of four for the competition, with the top two teams from each group advancing to the semi-finals. The final will be held on March 9 in Lahore. The semi-final matches will be played on March 5 in Karachi and on March 6 in Rawalpindi.

Group Stage Dissection

New Zealand, Bangladesh, India, and Pakistan make up Group A. Afghanistan, Australia, South Africa, and England make up Group B.

Key Matches and Dates

  • Group A:
  • Pakistan vs New Zealand in Karachi on February 19.
  • India vs Bangladesh in Lahore on February 20.
  • India vs New Zealand in Lahore on February 23.
  • Pakistan vs India in Lahore on March 1, a highly anticipated clash.

Other notable matches include:

  • Afghanistan vs South Africa in Karachi on February 21.
  • Australia vs South Africa in Rawalpindi on February 26.
  • Bangladesh vs New Zealand in Lahore on February 27.
  • Afghanistan vs Australia in Rawalpindi on February 28.

Semi-Finals and Final

The semi-finals will take place as follows:

  • March 5: Semi-final 1 in Karachi
  • March 6: Semi-final 2 in Rawalpindi

The final match is scheduled for March 9 in Lahore.

Participating Teams’ Commitments

The ICC Champions Trophy is supported by every member country. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will consult the government before taking a final decision.

Significance of the Tournament

After a gap of eight years, the ICC Champions Trophy is back with this competition. When the Champions Trophy was played in 2017, Pakistan defeated India in the championship match. Fans around the world should expect great cricket action from the 2025 edition.

Detailed Match Schedule

  • February 19: New Zealand vs Pakistan – Karachi
  • February 20: Bangladesh vs India – Lahore
  • February 21: Afghanistan vs South Africa – Karachi
  • February 22: Australia vs England – Lahore
  • February 23: New Zealand vs India – Lahore
  • February 24: Pakistan vs Bangladesh – Rawalpindi
  • February 25: Afghanistan vs England – Lahore
  • February 26: Australia vs South Africa – Rawalpindi
  • February 27: Bangladesh vs New Zealand – Lahore
  • February 28: Afghanistan vs Australia – Rawalpindi
  • March 1: Pakistan vs India – Lahore
  • March 2: South Africa vs England – Rawalpindi
  • March 5: Semi-final 1 – Karachi
  • March 6: Semi-final 2 – Rawalpindi
  • March 9: Final – Lahore

The ICC Champions Trophy 2025 is set to be an exciting event, bringing together the best cricket teams in the world for a series of thrilling matches in Pakistan.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments